Ocean Racing Club of Victoria - Racing Calendar



Every year during Summer, the ORCV conducts regular offshore racing, with the major events being the two Melbourne to Hobart (via both the West and East coasts of Tasmania) and the Melbourne to Launceston yacht races. The latter is Australia's oldest ocean race.

ORCV races are held at the same time of year, every year. Please see the Victorian Government website, HERE, for details of the dates of each race, based on the Public Holidays listed in the Time of Year, below. The starting times will reflect the time of slack water at Port Phillip Heads, which you can see HERE.

In Winter, the focus is on Melbourne's Port Phillip, where the ORCV's Melbourne Winter Series has been conducted since 1971. Each July, at the start of this event, crews get their only authorised chance to practice firing hand-held rocket flares.

Australia's longest Category One race is the ORCV's 1885nm Melbourne to Vanuatu event. This is held every four years from 2006.

Australia's only Category Zero event is the famed, two-handed, 5500nm Melbourne to Osaka race. It has been held every four years since 1987, with just the one exception. This Sister City event is co-hosted by the Sandringham Yacht Club and the Osaka Hokko Yacht Club. The ORCV manages all the on-water elements.

The table starts with the Melbourne to Stanley event, as this marks our annual return to Bass Strait and beyond.

Name and Code

Time of Year





Melbourne to Stanley - M2S

Derby Day of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival





Melbourne Latitude Series - the MLS is designed to get skippers and crew out into the ocean for the first time.


Bay Stern Chaser

2nd last Saturday in November - Bass Strait


Following Day







A specified 'Latitude' in Bass Strait, which is determined for each boat in the event













Boxing Day Dash (Le Coq de la Baie) - BDD December 26 Port Melbourne Blairgowrie 34nm 4+

Melbourne to Hobart Westcoaster - M2HW

December 27





Melbourne to Hobart Eastcoaster - M2HE

December 27





Melbourne to Launceston - M2L

December 27


Low Head



Melbourne to King Island  - M2KI

Labour Day





Melbourne to Port Fairy - M2PF
Good Friday of Easter


Port Fairy



Melbourne to Apollo Bay - M2AB

May 18th & 19th


Apollo Bay



Melbourne Two Handed - MTH First Sunday in May Around fixed marks in Port Phillip Melbourne 24nm approx. 4
Melbourne Winter Series - MWS
Every fortnight from the last Sunday in June for 6 events
Around laid marks in Port Phillip NB. MWS Day 4, is for Race #5 and is usually a longer race inside Port Phillip around various navigation marks. Variable 4
Melbourne to Geelong - M2G This is the seventh event of the MWS and is held on the 1st Saturday in September Melbourne Geelong 35 to 58nm (depending on wind direction and division) 4
Melbourne to Vanuatu - M2V Starts on the first Sunday in July, every four years from 2006 Portsea Port Vila, Vanuatu 1885nm 1+
Melbourne to Osaka - M2O
Starts in the first weeks of March, with 2013 being the eighth edition of the classic. Portsea
Osaka, Japan 5500nm 0+


Other Events and Series:


The ORCV also conducts or is associated with the following series and events and is very appreciative of the assistance provided by the host clubs at all of our destinations. These are the Derwent Sailing Squadron, Tamar Yacht Club, Lions Club of Stanley, Blairgowrie Yacht Squadron, Royal Geelong Yacht Club, Port Fairy Yacht Club, King Island Boat Club and the Vanuatu Cruising Yacht Club.

  • The Sovereign Series: consisting of the Boxing Day Dash, the  Melbourne to Hobart Westcoaster and the King of the Derwent, which is held on January 2nd and conducted by the Derwent Sailing Squadron.

  • The Salamanca Series: consisting of the Boxing Day Dash, the Melbourne to Hobart Eastcoaster and the King of the Derwent, which is held on January 2nd and conducted by the Derwent Sailing Squadron.

  • The Rudder Cup Series: consisting of the Boxing Day Dash, the Melbourne to Launceston and the TasPorts Cup. The Rudder Cup is Australia's oldest ocean racing trophy. It was first awarded to the winner of the race from Queenscliff to Low Head (at the mouth of the Tamar River near Launceston) in 1907, which is the still the case today. The TasPorts Cup is conducted by Tamar Yacht Club and sailed on the Tamar River on the December 29 and forms the third leg of the Rudder Cup Series.
  • The Melbourne Offshore Championship winner is decided from an aggregate all of the ORCV's Summer events.




New layer...