



2023-2024 ORCV Offshore Championship

Notice of Series



Amendments

Number	Sections Changed	Summary of Amendment

Copyright © Ocean Racing Club of Victoria, Inc 2023-2024

All enquiries to:

Ocean Racing Club of Victoria, Inc 3 Aquatic Drive ALBERT PARK VIC 3206 Australia

Contents

2023	2023-2024 ORCV Offshore Championship Notice of Series		
1.	Points System and Designated Races	4	
2.	Scoring and Trophies	5	
3.	Trophies Award	5	
4.	Other Conditions	5	
5.	Entries	5	
6.	Trademarks and Copyright	7	
7.	Recent Winners of the ORCV Offshore Championships	7	

2023-2024 ORCV Offshore Championship Notice of Series

The Offshore Championship and the Perry Fletcher Clipper Trophy are awarded to the best performed yacht in the Monohull Division determined using AMS measurement handicap results. Yachts in this Division may be sailed fully crewed, with up to 4 crew racing with autohelm or Double Handed as desired on a race to race basis.

The championship award is subject to the provisions of this Notice of Series and the NOR of the races from which a yacht's score is drawn.

Competitors in the Double Handed Division are automatically entered in the Monohull Division and a Double Handed Yacht racing under AMS measurement handicap is therefore eligible to win the Perry Fletcher Clipper Trophy as well as the Double Handed Offshore Championship which is subject to a separate NOS.

1. Points System and Designated Races

- 1.1. Race Points will be awarded to each yacht entered and the Offshore Championships is based on the results in the **AMS** Handicap Category of each Designated Race in which the yacht starts, using a weighted Low Point system defined as follows:
 - Race Points = (Race Score as per RRS) * (Race Weight)
- 1.2. The Designated Races and their Race Weights for the purposes of scoring are:

Race	Start Date	Race Weight
2023 Melbourne to Devonport	Friday 3 November 2023	2
2023-2024 Melbourne to Hobart	Wednesday 27 December 2023	1
2024 Melbourne to King Island	Friday 8 March 2024	2
2024 Melbourne to Port Fairy	Friday 28 March 2024	2.5

2. Scoring and Trophies

- 2.1. The ORCV Offshore Chamopion and the Perry Fletcher Clipper Trophy will be awarded to the yacht which achieves the lowest number of Race Points based on each yacht's AMS measurement handicap results.
- 2.2. Each race must have at least three starters to count as a race towards a series result
- 2.3. If the yacht does not start in the race, it will score one point plus the number of starters
- 2.4. If all four Designated Races are conducted, then the best 3 results shall count for each yacht that is, one drop.
- 2.5. If only three Designated Races are conducted, then the best 2 results shall count for each yacht that is, one drop.
- 2.6. If only two Designated Races are conducted, then both results shall count for each yacht that is, no drops.
- 2.7. If only one Designated Race is conducted, then the Championship is cancelled.
- 2.8. For the ORCV Offshore and the Perry Fletcher Clipper Trophy:
 - The results shall be drawn from the Monohull Division.
 - Where the Monohull Division includes additional Divisions, the calculation of Race Points shall be based on the combined Monohull Division results.
- 2.9. A tied ORCV Offshore championships score shall be resolved using the Race Points from the Melbourne to Hobart Race. If the Melbourne Hobart race is not conducted, then the Melbourne to Devonport race point will be used.
- 2.10. The ORCV website will use TopYacht to provided an updated series score on the completion of each of the designated races.

3. Trophies Award

3.1. The Perry Fletcher Clipper Trophy Perpetual Trophy, together with a memento for each of the winning yachts, will be presented at the next ORCV Annual Presentation Ceremony..

4. Other Conditions

- 4.1. The ORCV reserves the right to amend this Notice of Series. Any amendments will be published on the ORCV website www.orcv.org.au and existing entrants will be notified.
- 4.2. The owner of a yacht shall comply with the requirements and conditions of the Notice of Race and Sailing Instructions for each of the Designated Races the yacht has entered.

5. Entries

- 5.1.1 The yacht will be automatically entered into the ORCV Offshore Championship once the yacht has entered one of more of the races designated as part of this series.
- 5.1.2 No additional entry fee is required for the ORCV Offshore Championship.



6. Trademarks and Copyright

- 6.1. "ORCV Offshore Championship"ia a trademark of the Ocean Racing Club of Victoria, Inc and the use of the trademark is absolutely restricted and limited to use by or with the consent of the ORCV.
- 6.2. This document is Copyright © Ocean Racing Club of Victoria, Inc 2023. All enquiries should be directed to:

Ocean Racing Club of Victoria 3 Aquatic Drive ALBERT PARK VIC 3206 Australia

7. Recent Winners of the ORCV Offshore Championship

Year	Winner	Skipper
2022-2023	Ryujin	A.Toomey
2021-2022	Alien	J. Brenan
2020-2021	Arcadia	P. Davidson
2019-2020		Not Awarded
2018-2019	Alien	J. Brenan

