2014-15 Overall Off-Shore Championship Results To Date

The results to date for the 2014-15 Off-Shore Championship in each of the handicap divisions have been shown on the Results page of the website for some time now. With final race of the Series this coming weekend to Apollo Bay, the interest really focuses on the overall result for the Series. The overall winner is determined by taking the best result for each boat in each of the six qualifying races (Vanuatu, Portland, any of the Christmas races to Tasmania, King Island, Port Fairy and Apollo Bay) in any of the handicap divisions. There have been 46 boats entered in at least one of these races (including Apollo Bay this weekend) in at least one of the handicap divisions so a boat that has a DNS in a race scores 47 Series points while a boat that is DNF or DSQ in a race scores points equal to the number of starters in that race plus one. The best four races count in the total score. So heading onto the final race, where do the boats stand? The top handful of boats are shown below;      


R1200 SPIRIT OF DOWNUNDER Lawrence Ford   47 ABN 3 2 1   53
R186 YOKO Robin Hewitt   47 ABN 4 3 2   56
H602 TURBULENCE Eric Marsh   47 ABN 2 6 1   56
R6806 BLUE CHIP Ian Lewis   47 ABN 2 8 2   59
S390 JAZZ PLAYER Andrew Lawrence   1 ABN 47 2 47   97
B10 CARTOUCHE Steven Fahey   3 ABN 1 47 47   98
G69 FUZZY LOGIC Gary Prestedge   47 ABN 2 4 47   100
SM4040 BANDIT Ashley Trebilcock   47 ABN 3 3 47   100

So with only six points separating the first four boats and twenty four boats racing to Apollo Bay this weekend, the Series is certainly up for grabs right now particularly given the light conditions currently being forecast! Assuming one or more of the top four boats finish the Apollo Bay Race, one of them will be the Series winner so good sailing this weekend.